Dr Charlotte Severne photo

Dr Charlotte Severne

  • Māori Trustee and Chief Executive of Te Tumu Paeroa

Dr Charlotte Severne (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāi Tūhoe) is the Māori Trustee. She heads up Te Tumu Paeroa, managing over 90,000 hectares of Māori land on behalf of nearly 100,000 owners by providing professional trustee, property management, and land development services to over 1,800 Māori land trusts.

Charlotte holds a PhD in Geology from the University of Auckland. In 2016 she was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit. This recognises her role as an advocate and mentor for Māori students in science. It also recognises her work assisting Māori entities to understand and better utilise science and research to sustainably manage and develop their assets.

Charlotte also has a wealth of experience in working with Māori business as a science advisor and in governance roles in energy, fisheries and farming entities. This includes her role as deputy chair of Opepe Farm Trust.

Greg Shaw photo

Greg Shaw

  • Deputy Māori Trustee and General Counsel

Greg Shaw is the Deputy Māori Trustee and General Counsel for Te Tumu Paeroa. He is also a member of Te Tumu Paeroa Investment Committee. Greg has been a practising lawyer for 28 years, and legal adviser to three Māori Trustee over the last 16 years.

Brae Watkins photo

Brae Watkins

  • Acting Chief Operating Officer

Brae Watkins (Ngāpuhi) is the Acting Chief Operating Officer for Te Tumu Paeroa. He oversees a range of activities including all property activities for the almost 2000 trusts and agencies administered by Te Tumu Paeroa. He's worked in the property industry for the last 43 years in Listed, Private and Institutional Companies in New Zealand. He's a Fellow of the Property Institute of NZ, an associate member of the Real Estate Institute of NZ, and a member of the Institute of Directors of NZ. He's been a Director of Colonial Investments NZ and currently holds 2 Directorships within Te Tumu Paeroa representing the Māori Trustee’s interests.