Skip to main content

Who we work with

Our mahi is diverse and complex and we cannot do it alone. We work together with other agencies and organisations to ensure we can deliver the best outcome for the whenua and its owners.

Māori Land Court – Te Kooti Whenua Māori

The Māori Land Court - Te Kooti Whenua Māori is the principal New Zealand court that hears matters relating to whenua Māori. 

People sometimes confuse the Māori Land Court with the role of Te Tumu Paeroa – we are two separate organisations. 

The Māori Land Court determines the ownership of whenua Māori. They are your first point of contact if you wish to succeed to whenua Māori or establish a trust for your whenua. 

See Māori Land Court

Te Puni Kōkiri

Te Puni Kōkiri is the government’s principal policy advisor on Māori wellbeing and economic resource development.

We work closely with Te Puni Kōkiri. They are the agency responsible for administering the Māori Trustee Act 1953 and our Crown Funding Agreement.

Te Puni Kōkiri advise the Minister for Māori Development on matters relating to the Māori Trustee.  

See Te Puni Kōkiri

Other agencies we work with

We also work with a number of other organisations and government agencies to ensure we can effectively protect and enhance whenua Māori, some of these include:

  • Ministry for the Environment
  • Department of Conservation
  • Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research
  • Toitū Te Whenua Land Information New Zealand 

Te Tumu KāingaTe Tumu Kāinga 

Te Tumu Kāinga is an independent charitable trust committed to helping Māori access healthy, affordable housing. The trust is administered by the Māori Trustee and is involved in a number of projects that deliver positive outcomes for Māori whānau. 

See Te Tumu Kāinga

Supporting Excellence in Māori Farming and Horticulture

We are passionate about supporting the development of whenua Māori and the inspirational Māori leading innovation in the agribusiness sector. The Ahuwhenua Trophy is the award for excellence in Māori farming and was inaugurated in 1933 by the visionary Māori leader, Sir Apirana Ngata and the Governor General at the time, Lord Bledisloe. 

The Trophy is competed for on a three-year rotational basis by Māori farmers in the sheep and beef, horticulture and dairy sectors.

See Ahuwhenua Trophy