Skip to main content

Ahuwhenua competition entries open for 2023

Entries are now open for the prestigious Ahuwhenua Trophy, Excellence in Māori Horticulture Award and the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Grower Award.

The Ahuwhenua Trophy and Young Māori Farmer/Grower Award are held annually, and over a three-year cycle covers dairy, sheep and beef and horticulture, with the inaugural competition for horticulture held in 2020. The competition objective is to recognise excellence in Māori horticulture.

“What a great privilege it is for the horticulture industry to be associated with the Ahuwhenua Trophy and showcase the tremendous mahi that Māori are doing to further our industry, as well as their own iwi and whānau. The inaugural 2020 horticulture competition highlighted an intrinsic commitment to the whenua, awa and people. I look forward to the coming year as once again, we work together to promote passion and good practice, as the kaitiaki of Aotearoa,” said Barry O’Neil, President of Ahumāra Kai Aotearoa – Horticulture New Zealand.

Ahuwhenua Trophy Management Committee Chair, Nukuhia Hadfield says “in the past decade more Māori have become major investors in the sector and this has resulted in good financial returns and jobs for our people. However, there is still much more to do and I am sure with the positive publicity that the Ahuwhenua Trophy competition generates, this will encourage more Māori to become involved in the sector.”

Nukuhia says in all the major horticultural areas around the country, there is clear evidence that Māori are settingAhuwhenua Young Māori Grower Finalists 2020 up new horticultural businesses or further developing established ones and are major contributors to a sector which in the past year earned $6.5 billion for the economy of Aotearoa New Zealand.

“I now urge all those Māori enterprises to take the next step and showcase their operations to Aotearoa by entering this competition. It is a unique opportunity to demonstrate the innovation and quality, along with genuine sustainability which sits behind our horticultural businesses,” she says.

Nukuhia Hadfield says for the finalists there is not only the prestige of winning the competition but the added benefits of high-quality feedback they receive on their enterprises.

The Young Māori Grower Award to open to passionate young Māori who are committed to succeeding in their horticultural careers. Those entering the competition will gain experience and develop a range of networks that will open up a range of opportunities for their future.  

Entry details, including the entry form are on the Ahuwhenua Trophy website

Closing dates

Ahuwhenua Trophy entries close Friday 9 December and the finalists will be announced in February 2023. After that field days will be held in April/May. 

Young Māori Grower Award entries close Friday 10 February 2023. Finalists will also attend a study tour as well as the Ahuwhenua Trophy awards dinner with travel, dinner and accommodation costs covered!

The winners will be announced at the Ahuwhenua Trophy awards dinner at Trustpower Baypark Stadium in Tauranga on Friday 9th June 2023.

Photos: Header image (AlphapixNZ): 2020 Ahuwhenua Trophy winner - Te Kaha, 15B Hineora Orchard 

InStory image (AlphapixNZ): Māori Young Grower Finalists 2020 - Maatutaera Akonga, Llewellyn Horticulture Limited, Brandon Cross, Seeka Limited, Finnisha Tuhiwai, Maugatapere Berries

Courtesy of Ahuwhenua Management Committee

For further information contact Peter Burke on 021 2242184 or [email protected] To access ‘free for editorial use’ photos of competition go to and contact John Cowpland from Alphapix for download access on [email protected].

Our thanks to our valued Ahuwhenua Trophy sponsors: Te Puni Kōkiri, the Ministry for Primary Industries, Te Tumu Paeroa, BNZ, NZ Māori Tourism, Horticulture New Zealand, Plant & Food Research, Zespri, Ballance Agri-Nutrients, Fruitfed Supplies, BDO, FMG, Massey University, New Zealand Fruitgrowers Charitable Trust and Kono Wines.

A big thanks also to sponsors of the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Grower Award: Te Puni Kōkiri, Primary ITO, Te Tumu Paeroa and Horticulture New Zealand.


Back to News